aem wideband - Mitsubishi Evolution Forums: Mitsubishi Lancer Forum
Mitsubishi Evo Forum Mitsubishi Evo Forum Header Right
 

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Mitsubishi Evolution Forums: Mitsubishi Lancer Forum > Lancer Evolution Tech Forums > Tuning & Engine Management
Register Forum Active Topics (T) Gallery Auto Loans Classifieds Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance Advertise

Tuning & Engine Management Engine Management, EGT temps, timing, wideband, datalogging, fuel trims, etc.

EvoTuners.net is the premier Mitsubishi Evolution Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2007, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Reputation: iansevo is an unknown
aem wideband

i just installed the aem wideband a/f gauge. the car seem on the lean side under normal cruising and idle. some where between 14.0 and 15.0 give or take. wot is still way rich so i'm not really worried i'm just wondering if this is normal. i do have intake and open filter plus upper i/c pipe and turboxs bypass valve. (and yes it blows back to intake like it should.) will be dynoflashed very soon. any feed back would be great. thanks.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2007, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
Warrtalon's Avatar
 
Timeslip: 11.510 @ 115.12
Dynosheet: 367whp/386 lb-ft
Club Region: Rocky Mountain
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,506
Images: 12
Reputation: Warrtalon is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to Warrtalon
Yes, the ECU attempts to maintain stoich when in closed loop operation at low throttle and idle, which is 14.7:1. That's not lean, because you're not boosting. In open loop at high throttle, that's when your tuned maps kick in and is when you should be cognizant of AFRs. You want them in the low 11s on 91oct.





__________________
[email protected] - PMI
[email protected] - Bandi
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
EVOtuners Member
 
turbolarry's Avatar
 
Club Region: SoCal
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,577
Images: 10
Reputation: turbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpfulturbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpfulturbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpful
I'm thinking about picking one of these up. How was the install? Where did you end up placing your sensor?



Offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-03-2007, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
Warrtalon's Avatar
 
Timeslip: 11.510 @ 115.12
Dynosheet: 367whp/386 lb-ft
Club Region: Rocky Mountain
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,506
Images: 12
Reputation: Warrtalon is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to Warrtalon
I just installed mine recently, too. The sensor is towards the end of the DP since I wasn't sure where to put it for best clearance up near the o2. It's still better than using a tailsniffer like on a dyno. I have my gauge mounted on the steering column so that it's in my face while racing, and I have a separate feed to a serial connector that I use to connect to EvoScan on my laptop.





__________________
[email protected] - PMI
[email protected] - Bandi
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 03:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Reputation: iansevo is an unknown
install is very easy. i had the people that istalled downpipe weld the bung in and install the sensor. sensor should be like 30 some inches from exuast outlet. with at least 10 degrees angle so moister doesn't ruin the sensor. my is pointed almost straight up and down on the top of the down pipe. gotta be before the cat though. but the directions cover all that. i highly recommend spending the money on this. it really looks cool to.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
EVOtuners Member
 
Car: 06 EVO
Club Region: Tri State
Registered: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
Images: 17
Reputation: EVOBR350 is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to EVOBR350
Ya just to add to this...Just got mine installed also, install is just like you said and placement wise. Works perfect, was just about to post the same question about it running in the 14-15's at idle and low rpm crusining. Right now im running 93 oct gas and its at about 11.9's right before redline. Boosting 23 lbs!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 01:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Posts: 256
Images: 6
Reputation: boostinpsi is an unknown
thats a little lean but not riciculously. run a log and see if your knocking. if not your fine.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 73
Reputation: Seqenre_Tao is an unknown
question did you guys run your wire through the passanger side of the car or did you put a hole in the firewall?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 02:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Reputation: Jdav79 is an unknown
Sorry, not trying to hijack this thread, however should the AFR's bounce around a lot? What I mean is that mine bounces from 14.2-15.5 or so at idle and while cruising at low throttle.

When I go WOT my guage does not even register anymore, it goes to 10.0 and then --- or something like that.

Any similar situations? Could the bouncing be due to a spark plug not being gapped like the others?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 02:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Warrtalon's Avatar
 
Timeslip: 11.510 @ 115.12
Dynosheet: 367whp/386 lb-ft
Club Region: Rocky Mountain
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,506
Images: 12
Reputation: Warrtalon is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to Warrtalon
It should bounce at low throttle in closed loop, because the ECU is constantly searching for 14.7.

In open loop at WOT, it should register wherever you're tuned. If you're showing 10.0, then that means the gauge doesn't go below 10, and you're running richer than that, which is rich as hell.





__________________
[email protected] - PMI
[email protected] - Bandi
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 03:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Reputation: iansevo is an unknown
there is a plug in the very corner on the pass. side of the fire wall. mine runs way rich at full boost as well i imagine its from fuel pump and no tune. i wish the wideband would have been my first mod.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 04:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 73
Reputation: Seqenre_Tao is an unknown
instead of starting a hole new thread this kinda falls in line with the subject here.....so I just got my BR TBE in today and I must say very nice but it needs a new hole in it. Now I have never played with stainless so any tips on what to use to weld the bung to the dp with would be great!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 04:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
Warrtalon's Avatar
 
Timeslip: 11.510 @ 115.12
Dynosheet: 367whp/386 lb-ft
Club Region: Rocky Mountain
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,506
Images: 12
Reputation: Warrtalon is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to Warrtalon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seqenre_Tao View Post
instead of starting a hole new thread this kinda falls in line with the subject here.....so I just got my BR TBE in today and I must say very nice but it needs a new hole in it. Now I have never played with stainless so any tips on what to use to weld the bung to the dp with would be great!
You're talking about needing to weld a bung into the DP for your wideband? It's the same for any other exhaust. You need to place it the proper distance from the turbo (whatever is recommended by your brand), and make sure wherever you weld the bung gives the o2 sensor enough clearance when poking out.





__________________
[email protected] - PMI
[email protected] - Bandi
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 04:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 73
Reputation: Seqenre_Tao is an unknown
thanks Warr but I guess I need to better ask my question what type of "ugly stick" should I use I normally weld with a brass (copper) one but I'm not sure if that will stick to stainless I would use the new tig welder but I'm not very good with that yet and I would rather not blow through the dp......I hope thats better asked now
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
Warrtalon's Avatar
 
Timeslip: 11.510 @ 115.12
Dynosheet: 367whp/386 lb-ft
Club Region: Rocky Mountain
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,506
Images: 12
Reputation: Warrtalon is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to Warrtalon
Hah, I have no idea about that stuff. I just gave it to my shop and had them do it. I figure there's a normal way to do it that is commonly known, no?





__________________
[email protected] - PMI
[email protected] - Bandi
Offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:55 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2007 AutoForums.com - EVOtuners.net - All Rights Reserved.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.