Yet another flash question (taking data off the ECU/saving)... - Mitsubishi Evolution Forums: Mitsubishi Lancer Forum
Mitsubishi Evo Forum Mitsubishi Evo Forum Header Right
 

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Mitsubishi Evolution Forums: Mitsubishi Lancer Forum > Lancer Evolution Tech Forums > Tuning & Engine Management
Register Forum Active Topics (T) Gallery Auto Loans Classifieds Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance Advertise

Tuning & Engine Management Engine Management, EGT temps, timing, wideband, datalogging, fuel trims, etc.

EvoTuners.net is the premier Mitsubishi Evolution Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2007, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
EVOtuners Member
 
turbolarry's Avatar
 
Club Region: SoCal
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,577
Images: 10
Reputation: turbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpfulturbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpfulturbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpful
Yet another flash question (taking data off the ECU/saving)...

So my cable got here yesterday, software is on the laptop, I think I'm ready to go.
Plug it all together, power the ECU, turn on the laptop, open ECUflash and;
Click "Read from ECU" right? That will be my stock map? As far as I know I have to save that somewhere safe and warm but;
Should I make a copy and work off of that, just change the file name?
Can I click "Read from ECU" again and have another working copy?
I can "Read from ECU" and still have a running car while I work on the maps right? It doesn't blank out the ECU anything right?
It's the "Internal ID" that is important not to change and be careful with? Anything else to watch out for regarding file coping/saving? Oh yea the immoblizer too huh?



Offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2007, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Warrtalon's Avatar
 
Timeslip: 11.510 @ 115.12
Dynosheet: 367whp/386 lb-ft
Club Region: Rocky Mountain
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,506
Images: 12
Reputation: Warrtalon is an unknown
Send a message via AIM to Warrtalon
Nothing happens to the ECU until you upload another map. Once you do that, to return to stock, you need to upload your original stock map. Read the first time and name it "stock" or something, then make a copy and start tuning with it. Each time you make changes, you will upload your tuned map again and go log until you get it right. At the end, you'll have a stock map and a tuned map. You can then make as many different maps as you want.





__________________
[email protected] - PMI
[email protected] - Bandi

Last edited by Warrtalon; 05-14-2007 at 06:25 AM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 10:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
EVOtuners Member
 
turbolarry's Avatar
 
Club Region: SoCal
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,577
Images: 10
Reputation: turbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpfulturbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpfulturbolarry is known to be trustworthy and helpful
I'm on it tonight!



Offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:33 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© 2007 AutoForums.com - EVOtuners.net - All Rights Reserved.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.