Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
alright, so i just got an evo and am wondering how the clutch is doing, i have never driven an evo other than this one so i just don't know how exactly they should react

my friend has an sti, and basically that thing pulls and pulls right until redline

the evo pulls a lot from 3k-4k rpm, after that it just goes fast, now i know that that is where the turbo spools so that would make sense but after 4k rpm there seems to be no power increases and actually once you get up close to redline it is almost as if the power seems to decrease

i do understand that that has to do with the power curve and what not, but just comparing it to my friends sti it seems totally different, I would say just as fast but different...

so i was wondering if this is the way it is supposed to be...or??
i don't know, i am new to this car and fast cars in general

·
Registered
64 Posts
yeah actually I bought an 03 evo almost a year ago and resently got it tuned and a week after my clutch went out completely. I always thought my clutch was going out but kept avoiding because its expensive to change them, now my car is going to the shop ime geting a performance clutch and flywheel. The power you are feeling is from when the turbo spools up but most likely the clutch is no holding the power at peak boost and torque that is how my clutch started out it felt slower and slower until it would not grab at all. Your car runs good other than it feels slow right? It could be a slight boost leak but not likely I think it probably is your clutch. About the sti yeah the sti feels a whole lot different it feels like power hits faster than a evo and also feels faster because it has shorter gear ratios but you should be faster with a fiew mods than him because evo perform beter to mods. I am telling you this from experience because a friend of mine has an sti.

·
Registered
64 Posts