Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
since im new to this scene kinda, With them flashing ur ecu and putting in diffrent settings for the mods you tell them to have, cant u have a poor tune pretty much done to ur car and not even realize ur running lean or rich than until u mess up ur car, cause there not actually there tuning ur car there just setting it to previous cars that have worked with those settings, is this 100% safe for my car? im not sure if i should trust it, u know what i mean guys

if anything turbotrix wants 500 for a flash and dyno tuning

·
Premium Member
3,496 Posts
I suppose it's possible, but if you look at the track record, it's extremely rare. Because of the unknown factor, we always suggest getting a custom tune when possible, but mail-in flashes have been used by thousands and thousands of Evos for 3 years now, and it's still considered a very viable solution. For $199, it's a ridiculous value.

If you were really that paranoid, you could do several things to check the tune:
- Get dyno'd where they can monitor AFRs
- Install your own wideband o2 sensor to see your AFRs at all times and get a datalogger to show you timing, which will give you an indication of whether you're encountering knock or not

Remember that although a mail-in flash is based off a tune of another car with your exact mods, it is also made more conservative than a custom tune specifically to provide that extra margin of safety for the unknown.

·
Premium Member
1,566 Posts
Warrtalon said:
I suppose it's possible, but if you look at the track record, it's extremely rare.
I normally try and stay out of the Dynoflash stuff, and maybe when something goes wrong it is rare, but why would you take a chance on being that "one guy?" The option to do it ourselves is right here;
http://www.openecu.org/index.php?title=Main_Page