Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes hello all Im new at all of this and was woundering if I put a aftermarket exhaust and a downpipe I would like to know what exhaust had a place for the o2 sensor and if I have a true turbo back exhaust and i put the o2 sensor in will it throw a engine code or do I need a high flow cat or what.

I am also woundering what all mods have thrown a engine code. I just dont want to throw a code thanks :dsm:

·
Registered
99 Posts
You're not going to get any gains from just putting an exhaust on. The Evo's ECU is smart, so when it detects more flow through the engine, it de-tunes itself so it's making stock-like power. For real gains, go with the Warrtalon stage 1 upgrade. It has everything you need to start making power, and defeats the de-tuning from the ECU.

·
Premium Member
3,496 Posts
You asked about an exhaust and a downpipe, but the downpipe is part of the exhaust, so that confused me. The whole exhaust consists of the downpipe, cat, and cat-back.

On a IX, the rear o2 is in the cat. When you get a TBE, since most TBEs were made for VIIIs, that means the bung will be in the mid-pipe portion of the cat-back. The o2 cable is long enough to move the o2 sensor back to plug into the mid-pipe, but no matter what you do, you're going to get a CEL if you replace the stock cat. That's ok, though, because it's the same for all of us, which is why we just use a very cheap CEL fix.

As mentioned, just doing a TBE on a IX would be a pretty big waste of money. The more important mods are a tune and MBC (with boost gauge). If you do the Warrtalon package, for instance, you get the tbe/mbc/gauge/tune all at once, which is the perfect stg1 combination. You don't have to buy a package to get that combo of mods, but that's just one option for you.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·