Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Forums banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm brand new to the EVO forums. I've been a member of DSMtuners.com for a few months now and i have a pretty good understanding of 2G Turbo DSMs. I might be getting a new job and i'm debating on whether to buy an EVO, buy a WRX, or mod the hell out of my GST.

I've been browsing some posts and people are talking about "flash". what is that? Is it a tuning device like DSMlink? One post said the best 3 mods for a IX are turboback exhaust, boost control, and Flash.

Just a generalization about EVO tuners and DSM tuners... EVO tuners are WAY more in depth in explanation. DSMers are straight to the point.

If i asked how to open my door a DSMer would say pull the handle.

Someone on this site would probably say, first- stick out your hand. 2nd-grab the handle firmly. 3rd-pull the handle. 4th-pull the door open. 5th-let go. 6th-get in car. 7th-grab door. 8th- pull door shut.

Everyone on this site seems A LOT smarter too. There are no newb questions like, What's a turbo? What's an intake? What's an exhuast? Those are the kind of questions i'd expect to see in a honda forum. ROFL

Sorry for the long post. lol. looks like i belong on this site according to what i've noticed.:rolleyes:

·
Premium Member
3,496 Posts
A flash is like the TMO chip. Have you heard of that? TMO hasn't been around for a while, but we used to use those on DSMs back in the day. Similar with chips on other cars, too, except there is no chip changed. The ECU is just reprogrammed by being flashed with new instructions. This does a number of things:

- Optimizes the AFRs (stock tune drops into the high 9 AFRs)
- Optimizez timing (gives a big bump in timing at peak boost for more torque and maximizes it through the powerband in conjunction with the AFRs)
- Removes fuel cut
- Raises the rev limiter (RPM of choice)
- Adds launch control (RPM of choice)
- Removes top-speed limiter